Ferienprogramm in Kenia

Holiday program in kenya

In Kenya, too, the holidays are over and school has started again. The holiday season is a special time for Jiamini, because during this time not only the children from high school come back to the day center, but many other children from the Kiandutu slum are also looked after. This means a lot of work and perseverance for the team on site.

But the vacation program is very important to Jiamini as it is designed to help keep the children away from life on the streets. Due to a lack of employment, there is increased drug abuse and dangerous games during the school holidays, especially in the slums.

Jiamini tries to counteract this by creating a safe environment. A varied holiday program should give the children a space to play and learn. So many activities took place in the three and a half weeks. The participation of 80 to 100 children was overwhelming; especially at lunchtime when they were playing football or basketball together.

The children were able to test their skills on the slackline and compete against each other in the sack race. Bracelets were tied together and vegetables were grown together. In addition to the many sporting and creative activities, so-called “life skills lessons” also took place. Topics that were dealt with included: hygiene, self-control, HIV / AIDS, self-esteem, and much more.

Leave a Reply

0254 715486703 contact@jiamini-cbo.org

Ferienprogramm in Kenia

Jiamini CBO Neuigkeiten Ferienprogramm in Kenia

Neuigkeiten

Ferienprogramm in Kenia

Posted By Jiamini

Auch in Kenia sind die Ferien nun vorbei und die Schule hat wieder angefangen. Die Ferienzeit ist für Jiamini eine besondere Zeit, denn in dieser Zeit kommen nicht nur die Kinder von der High-School zurück ins Tageszentrum, sondern auch viele weitere Kinder des Kiandutu Slums werden mitbetreut. Dies bedeutet für das Team vor Ort viel Arbeit und Ausdauer.

Doch das Ferienprogramm liegt Jiamini sehr am Herzen, da es dazu beitragen soll, die Kinder von einem Leben auf der Straße fernzuhalten. Aufgrund fehlender Beschäftigung kommt es in den Schulferien, vor allem in den Slums, zu vermehrtem Drogenmissbrauch und gefährlichen Spielen.

Jiamini versucht dem entgegenzuwirken, indem es ein sicheres Umfeld schafft. Durch ein abwechslungsreiches Ferienprogram soll den Kindern ein Raum zum Spielen und Lernen gegeben werden. So fanden in den dreieinhalb Wochen vielen Aktivitäten statt. Die Teilnahme von 80 bis 100 Kindern war überwältigend; vor allem am Mittag, wenn zu zusammen Fußball oder Basketball gespielt wurde.

Die Kinder konnten ihre Fähigkeiten an der Slackline testen und beim Sackhüpfen gegeneinander antreten. Es wurden zusammen Armbänder geknüpft und gemeinsam Gemüse angebaut. Neben den vielen sportlichen und kreativen Aktivitäten fanden auch sogenannte „life skills lessons“ statt. Themen, die unter anderem  behandelt wurden, waren: Hygiene, Selbstkontrolle, HIV/Aids, Selbstachtung, u.v.m.

Written by Jiamini

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.